We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Move into the Luminous

by Makushin

  • Streaming + Download

    Pre-order of Move into the Luminous. You get 1 track now (streaming via the free Bandcamp app and also available as a high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more), plus the complete album the moment it’s released.
    Purchasable with gift card
    releases October 27, 2023

      £7 GBP  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    A limited edition 12" pressing on 100% recycled black vinyl.

    Pressed in the UK by The Vinyl Factory.

    Sleeve photography and design by Tommy Perman.

    Includes digital pre-order of Move into the Luminous. You get 1 track now (streaming via the free Bandcamp app and also available as a high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more), plus the complete album the moment it’s released.
    shipping out on or around October 27, 2023
    Purchasable with gift card

      £20 GBP or more 


Everything New
More Easily 04:41
Divers Searching
Send Love to Nara
No More Rush Hour
Look Up Now
Something Something
For Pollen


'Move into the Luminous' is the debut album from Makushin, a group whose work explores the intersection between folk, jazz and ambient music.

Double bassist Jon Thorne, guitarist Peter Philipson and singer Nancy Elizabeth lead an inspiring collective on this richly layered and immersive collaboration. The whole album has a natural, unforced aesthetic and features some notable instrumentalists who bring saxophone, piano, drums, violin and synths to the sound palette.

The lyrical themes deal with subjects such as the illumination of the moon, the observation of nature and attempting to slow the course of time. The varied musical influences range from the early 1970s recordings of John Martyn with Danny Thompson, the ambient albums made by David Sylvian and Holger Czukay, records by Joni Mitchell, Beth Gibbons, and the musical aesthetic of ECM Records.

The first single taken from the album, 'More Easily,' calls to mind David Crosby’s solo album 'If Only I Could Remember My Name', and features Andrew Wasylyk on Rhodes piano and vibraphone.

The shimmering guitar work on the track 'Something Something' evokes the Cocteau Twins while 'Look Up Now' and 'Everything New' soar with Nancy’s keening vocals and the honey-sweet richness of the growling double bass.

By contrast, the percussive storm on the instrumental track 'Landscape' takes an ambient jazz approach and features some inspirational saxophone work by Martin Slattery and free improv drumming by Andrew Cheetham. Another friend of the trio, David A Jaycock, makes an appearance playing additional electric guitar on two of the tracks.

The band name refers to Mount Makushin, an active volcano in Alaska, and this was inspired by the book 'The Cruise of the Corwin', written by Scottish-born American naturalist John Muir, where he vividly described Makushin as the “most noble volcano” he saw on an Alaskan expedition in 1881.


Nancy Elizabeth is a singer and multi-instrumentalist who has released three chamber folk albums under her own name on the Leaf Label. She has also previously played with James Yorkston and recorded with the late ambient composer Susumu Yokota.

Jon Thorne is a double bassist best known as a member of the pioneering electronic band Lamb and, more recently, Yorkston Thorne Khan. He has worked with many other musicians, including Jon Hopkins, Robert Fripp and his mentor Danny Thompson, as well as releasing his own music.

Peter Philipson is a guitarist who has previously performed with Jane Weaver for a decade and has collaborated with her and Raz Ullah on two ambient albums under the artist name of Fenella. He has also released a number of solo instrumental guitar albums.


releases October 27, 2023

Nancy Elizabeth – vocals
Jon Thorne – double bass
Peter Philipson – guitar, juno synth
Andrew Cheetham – drums
Martin Slattery – saxophone, piano, keys, bass clarinet
Andrew Wasylyk – rhodes piano, vibraphone
David A. Jaycock – lead guitar
Jojo Thorne – backing vocals
Raz Ullah – modular synth
Olivia Moore – violin

Produced by Peter Philipson & Jon Thorne.

Band performances recorded at 80 Hertz, Manchester by George Atkins.

Mixed by Peter Philipson.

Mastered by George Atkins.

Backing vocal arrangements written by Jojo Thorne.

Violin arrangements written by Olivia Moore.


all rights reserved



Blackford Hill Edinburgh, UK

Our releases encompass electronica, field recordings, modern classical, spoken word and jazz - all connected to or inspired by a sense of place, created in a variety of audio and print formats.

contact / help

Contact Blackford Hill

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Move into the Luminous, you may also like: